Lost Love

I was preparing dinner and most of the times when I`m in the kitchen cooking, I totally forget about the rest of the world around me and I won`t get distracted by anything around me. But this time this voice on the t.v., a lady`s voice, reached me. The life story she was telling took my attention and just like that I started listening to what she was talking about in the documentary instead of enjoying my time in the kitchen preparing this lovely dinner.

As if it wasn`t enough for me, I stopped with the preparation of the meal because I couldn`t follow the whole story and besides, I needed to see the storytellers face. I got very curious. It was like she was sitting in right in front of me in my livingroom talking to me, telling me her lifestory that happened to be very serious and emotional. She lost someone very special in her life.
And than she said the words;
“It is better to have loved and have lost love than to have never loved at all.”  
Later on I looked this saying and found out that they were once written by Alfred Lord Tennyson
Those words really touched me at that moment and later on that same evening, I remembered them again. I have also lost loved ones in my life. Not only a friend that came into my life and left after a while, not only a marriage that ended up in a divorce but also my best friend that lost her life way too early. We used to do everything together and than suddenly she was gone.
Because of examples like that I have to say that first I had my doubts about this phrase. That`s also the reason why those words remained on my mind. I mean, being sad and having your heart broken because you lost someone you loved is the worst feeling that exists in this world. I thought; “Wouldn`t it be better not to love? Wouldn`t it be better to keep distance and not to start caring about others? Because than we won`t get hurt.”
I had the answer on my own lips. Remember, this is the way I see it! We are all different so I`m convinced that the opinions about this phrase would be different.
We have the memories and the experiences from the times that there was happiness. Those memories and experiences become special, like treasures. We learn how it is to love, to be loved and to be special, but we also learn how it feels to get hurt and to be in pain. Both makes us stronger and we learn from it all.
But I couldn`t imagine not knowing how to love someone, because this is the most wonderful feeling in the world.
So I do agree with this saying Lord Tennyson once wrote.
Leave a Reply

