Give someone a smile!

Give someone a smile

Recently I underwent a surgery that finally took place after it was aborted on the initial date. Afterwards it was postponed again to another date because of emergencies and so it went on until I was done with the whole happening.
Although there was highly need for me to undergo the surgery I became exhausted by all the uncertainty about the date, the different people that treated me and all the complicated medical questions I had to answer. At one point I had no more sense to undergo the surgery, only thinking about it made me very nervous and grumpy.
So finally the big day came! As soon as I went through the door of the hospital I was received with a smile by an assistant. I felt my anxiety level dropping down. And than again another smile followed and another one… and suddenly it was all gone! I was relaxed!! I felt like a little girl in a candy store. Well, a candy story full of needles but o.k. even that I did survive on that day thanks to all those beautiful people that treated me so well. 
I felt like I got lot`s of gifts on that day. Gifts in the shape of real smiles. And whenever someone asks me about my surgical experience on that day, the biggest part of my conversation is about how friendly they were to me. 
And I`m grateful that in spite of the position I was in, I got the opportunity to feel happiness in a moment like that, thanks to the smiles I received in that clinic. 
“A little smile can really make a big difference.”
14 thoughts on “Give someone a smile!

  1. Thank you for this excellent reminder that we don’t have to do big and great things to positively impact others. All it takes is a little smile or one kind word to make a big difference : )

      • Lisette, I’m good, thank you! Thanks for saying hello. You helped make my day that much better : ) I certainly hope you are doing well too. I’m a bit busier than I would like this summer (usually that’s my relaxing time), but I am still blessed in a major way. Have an excellent day : )

    • I totally agree with you Joe! “Just give me one smile and I`ll feel good!” (that`s what I always say). 🙂 And let me thank you for using your valuable time on commenting such kind words here. Nice to see some good people coming together on my blog. 🙂 Wish you a wonderful and blessed weekend full of love and lots of sunshine!

  2. I hope you had a speedy recovery after your surgery! And you are right, in certain difficult situations, a smile is all you need! Have a great week!

    • Thank you Dudzi! I`m pretty much as fully recovered now so I`m happy `cause I was very impatient. Hope you`re enjoying your weekend and wish you a beautiful Saturday!

  3. You’re absolutely correct, my friend!

    A smile is something so precious and it is practically free!! So always feel free to give it or to receive it!

    Hope you are recovering soon and have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    • Thank you my friend! I`m recovering very well now even though I was impatient at the beginning and had to slow down with picking up the normal life. Now I`m one smile richer today! 🙂 And sending one smile back to you. You have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  4. A smile that is genuine is a treasure that touches one deeply and it’s free to give and a joy to receive… very nice post message. Here is a poem that I wrote a while back, you might enjoy! Have a wonderful day!

    A Genuine Smile

    A genuine smile joyfully gives to a day
    Much more value than one really knows
    It’s more than the gold light of the sun
    More soothing than the moons soft glow

    It reaches down deep within one’s soul
    Making such inspired feelings to arise
    It makes a heart’s flame leap forward
    From the dormant place where it did lie

    It causes a young heart to begin to pound
    And it brings about a shortness of breath
    It adds new meaning to life in one’s mind
    Along with a glow that will always last

    It’s a treasure chest full of beautiful jewels
    More valuable than a single pearl of great worth
    For a genuine smile is valued so much more
    Than any treasure which can be found in the earth.

    Wendell A. Brown,
    January 2013,

    • Well thank you very much Wendell! I enjoyed reading every word of your poem! 😉 It`s powerful! Thank you so much for sharing. The most beautiful thing in the world is seeing someone smile and knowing that you`ve touched their heart with that one smile. 🙂 Wish you a wonderful evening!

Leave a Reply

